Return of the Living Dead Name (but bearing good tidings)

It may not seem much, and if you follow blogs such as this you may well have seen enough of the things for a lifetime, but…

Annoyingletter

…my letter from the Gender Identity Clinic in London has finally arrived, telling me I can probably expect an appointment within thirteen months of the referral date (May 5). Whilst that is hard to get too excited about, at least things are definitely moving forwards again, and I can (hopefully) stop fretting so much. Though knowing me, I probably won’t.

They used my old name, rather irritatingly, but one takes the rough with the smooth.

In other news, I have finished writing the steampunky novel “Gloriana’s Masque” that I started last october, which did its bit in bringing my gender dysphoria to a head, after it became apparent to me how much my female protagonist was a shameless self-projection of my unrealised dreams (She is also a scientist, which is what I always wanted to be until I met my high school science teacher…). Not a clue how I shall go about publishing it yet, but a friend who generally detests fantasy fiction has dusted it off in one weekend, which I will take as a good sign. Just a shame he isn’t the CEO of Random House…

Unfortunately, having resumed my internet usage (which I successfully cut down on during the last phase of writing), I find my net addiction is as strong as ever, so in order to get a handle on it I intend to only allow myself use of the internet every other day. Intermittent fasts seem to be the only option, as when I get online – meaning to spend little time – it always ends up extending… This will mean I will be checking this blog and others less frequently, but I will do my best to keep abreast during the “on” days. I do feel, though, that being an online transwoman is starting to become my whole life, and awesome as that is, it is only one facet of me.

Finally, a few more screencaps from the “Imago” film I am doing with Jason Marsh. These are the parallel “female” scenes to the “male” scenes I posted on earlier, and will depict transformation through the use of reflections and dream-like imagery. Though with that letter finally in hand, one dares to hope that we are getting well beyond the stage of merely dreaming and fantastising in prose…

r2 r4 r3 r1

12 thoughts on “Return of the Living Dead Name (but bearing good tidings)

  1. My opinion–for what it’s worth–is that you should take the risk and send the novel out. It is so wonderful and amazing that you were able to finish one (that’s my dream but I won’t be able to do anything serious about it for years, I expect). Why not see if a publisher will try it? You could always use a friend’s address and have the friend screen the letters for you and only share rejections if/when you feel up to it but share acceptances immediately, of course. Your blog is interesting, your photos/film are too, and you’re obviously very creative person. Why hide that gift from the world?!?

    Liked by 1 person

      • It’s hard, I know, to tell yourself you “should” get over your nerves, but maybe if you have people around to support you, it will feel a little less scary.
        Yesterday I heard Terri Gross do a very interesting radio interview about a new movie filmed while Mya Taylor was transitioning. It is nothing like your movie (it’s a comedy and the transitioning part is really incidental to it) but still made me think of you and your project. Here’s the link, if you are interested:
        http://www.npr.org/programs/fresh-air/2015/07/21/424979504/fresh-air-for-july-21-2015?showDate=2015-07-21

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you for the interesting link, and for the encouragement. 🙂 xxx I find am more nervous about submitting work for publishing than I am about transitioning, but I will force myself to take the leap. I have stayed in a dead end career for years because it was *meant* to be supporting me as a writer (the only work that really excites me), so it is high time I tried to make a real go of it…

        Like

Leave a Reply

