The Liebster Award

liebsteraward-roses

I have been nominated for a Liebster Award by the wonderful Nikki of A Kinder Way. Thus, feeling appropriately humbled, I will give it my best to honour the distinction…

Rules as follows:

the-rules

So profuse thanks to Nikki, and here are the nominees (though I stress I will not be put out if anyone chooses not to do this):

Ambivalence Girl
Aoife Eschatology
Daniella’s Ramblings
Fairy Jerbear’s Queer / Trans News
Kira Moore’s Closet
La Quemada (Believe the Girl)
Oh Mia God
Queering the Nerd
Raising Orlando
Transgender Tish
Translucidity

My Answers to Nikki’s Questions:

  1. Why did you start your blog?
    I was advised by my best friend to document my transition.
  2. What was the last kind thing you did for yourself?
    Dressed and made-up in my best Gothic fashion for an LGBT+ support group, which proved a slight miscalculation as that evening’s group had been integrated with a Methodist service. They looked surprised…
  3. What was the last kind thing you did for someone else?
    Bought lunch for the aforementioned friend.
  4. What is your favourite way to pass time besides the computer/phone.
    Writing fiction.
  5. If you could spend an hour with anyone, who would it be?
    My handsome hubby, Cal.
  6. WhatΒ is the last thing you ate?
    Cadbury’s chocolate buttons. Very mature, I know…
  7. What was the last book you read?
    Virginia Woolf – A Room of One’s Own.
  8. What are you passionate about?
    Faith, fiction, husband, Gothiness, transition, transpolitics, in no particular order (though hubby first, obviously).
  9. You just won a trip to anywhere in the world. Where do you go?
    San Francisco. Or possibly Transylvania.
  10. What is your guilty pleasure?
    Vampires (see above).
  11. What is your dream career?
    Countess (also see above). Failing that, author.

11 random facts about me:

  1. Doctorate in English Literature… Gothic, unsurprisingly.
  2. Taught English for a year in China. Loved it.
  3. Married to a Frenchman since 2013…
  4. …but cannot speak French worth a damn…
  5. …though I did once write him a probably quite terrible love poem in dodgy Latin.
  6. My longest (and current) job is parcel sorter for Royal Mail. I have stuck it that long because it gives me enough money to work part-time and thus write…
  7. …not to mention job-hunting is perhaps my least favourite thing to do ever.
  8. Flautist, though not a professional level one. I did once play in a hippie-electro band called “Little Eris,” though.
  9. Have written about half a dozen novels, though to date have only published two (and none as yet under my post-transition name).
  10. The author who got me writing in the first place was the late Terry Pratchett, and my fantasy writing to this date tends to pay conscious homage to him (though I tend to opt for grimmer worlds).
  11. Other favourite authors include Jane Austen, C S Lewis, Julian of Norwich, and J R R Tolkien.

11 questions to my nominees:

  1. Why did you start your blog?
  2. Has it fulfilled your expectations for it?
  3. How do you feel about the Internet as a social environment?
  4. If you could meet one world leader, who would it be?
  5. And if you could give them one bit of advice and / or criticism, what would it be?
  6. What issue do you care most about?
  7. If you could eliminate one thing from the world, what would it be?
  8. What is your Dungeons and Dragons alignment? (I try to be chaotic good as much as possible, though I suspect I mainly just manage gratuitously nerdy…)
  9. Who is your favourite Doctor Who?
  10. If you had a TARDIS, where / when would you take it?
  11. And if you could be any alien or fantasy species, which would you opt for?

Good luck with that lot, dear folks… xxx

13 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. Eleanor, while it’s great to be able to spread the word about blogs we enjoy reading I know these award things are really just a bit of fun on the side. That said, I consider seeing my blog on the list of someone with your writing talents to be an unexpected honour. Thank you for the appreciation of what I try to do. πŸ™‚
    I’ll do my best to work through the requirements over the next couple of days.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is just a bit of fun (and hopefully will make people more aware of the blogs I mentioned – there were so many people who deserved my thanks this year). Will be fascinated if you do choose to undertake it though. πŸ™‚ xxx

      Like

  2. Thank you for nominating me! I will probably not nominate people this time around, but to sate your curiosity: I started my blog to provide an anonymous outlet for self-exploration; it’s definitely done its job; I love the internet as a social environment as a supplement to an in-person one, and I think it enriches my life and exposes me to new ideas; I would probably meet Michelle Obama; I’d ask her to run for prez; I care most about the environment; I would eliminate climate change; I don’t D&D so I don’t know; I loved Matt Smith and his bowties; I would take a TARDIS to any other planet with life on it! or to Pangaea back when it was one continent! or to Mount Everest in the future when the snow melts and there are altitude-adapted plants growing up there; and if I could be any alien or fantasy species, I would be a hobbit probably.

    Congrats on your liebster, I enjoyed learning about you and your tendencies toward all things dark and gothic and fantasy. It’s super awesome. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your answers. πŸ™‚ I am usually reticent to share these things myself, so I quite understand not passing it along, but I am so happy to learn more about you. Glad to see the TARDIS question especially caught your imagination. πŸ˜‰ The D&D has been confusing people generally, alas… I never played it much myself, but one of the nominees here describes herself as “Lawful evil” so I was curious where everyone else felt they came on the scales (The first value sort of describes your social outlook, from lawful to chaotic, and the second describes more one’s inner self, from good to evil). On reflection, though, it was a bit obscure of me… Happy New Year. πŸ™‚ ❀ xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

