3 Reasons Why I’m Not Self Publishing

Been quiet of late, I know, preoccupied with the novel I have just finished and cannot decide what (if anything) to do with. This post, however, eloquently explains why I have ruled out one seemingly obvious option… Point three particularly chimes with my own thoughts:

“I want to be able to say that someone besides myself was willing to put their reputation on the line and say that I wrote a book that’s worth paying money for. That I was ready to be published, not an author with potential, putting their book out there too early because when I’m self publishing, no one can tell me it’s not ready.”

Lindsay Kitson - Author and Pilot

I had a family member ask me recently whether I had considered self publishing my novel, instead of going to all the trouble of finding a traditional publisher. I have thought a lot about this – and I have a number of reasons, even aside from the reasons I have never bought a self published book. This isn’t about which is better, it’s about what I want and what’s best for me.

I do better being managed.

I’m not a terribly self motivated person, but I work well under pressure. Give me a deadline, and I can make that deadline. Just tell me what you need me to do.

Self publishing, I’d have to manage myself, and I suck at that. As John Scalzi mentioned in his article on Amanda Palmer and her indie Kickstarter project, “This is particularly the case when it comes to writers, artists and…

View original post 550 more words

5 thoughts on “3 Reasons Why I’m Not Self Publishing

  1. Interesting – and I do understand- but there’s also something to be said for trusting your own appraisal, particularly when friends have already given their input. Still, there’s nothing like the confidence boost of a publishing contract – which reminds me, I must get onto my sources! xxx

    Liked by 2 people

    • Cal keeps telling me much the same (and urging me to read Amanda Palmer’s “The Art of Asking”) but even if I could get over the above feeling, I get so little pleasure out of marketing – and I already spend more than enough time on social media – that I can’t see myself throwing myself into it to the extent it takes to be a successful indie artist.

      I must in all conscience state, this is not a great attitude for anyone wanting to write professionally. It is a sad truism that one must put even more work into the post-creative process than the creative one, and even regular publishers like authors who are not too shy (or lazy) to promote themselves. Staying happily in the ivory tower while the extroverts get on with their thing on one’s behalf is no longer a valid business model in this social-media-driven age, alas.

      Like

    • Thank you so much. 🙂 Still, this whole aspect of the affair is very bad for shy people – I couldn’t pull out of that contest fast enough when I saw how much social media pushing one was expected to do. Other, more traditional contests sometimes get sent my way, though, so I haven’t abandoned it completely. Just taking a break from it. x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

